Smoothies & Oats…Why They Should be Your Breakfast Staple

Breakfast food is pretty much the best thing ever. Brunch? Yes please, every day. And there are a million and a half recipes out there for amazing breakfast and brunch dishes – yet it’s still the one meal that we so often skip. Mornings are busy!

pancake-kabobs1-645x746Seriously. Do you have time to make citrus, mint, strawberry, pancake kabobs? I don’t.

Classic rushed breakfasts for me – 5 or 6 almonds… half of a banana… just coffee. None of the above giving me enough energy for a stressful job or holding my hunger through lunch. And I get to my office at around 7 or 8am – so cooked meals are pretty much off the menu. But fear not, I have perfected the *Healthy* *On-The-Go* *Quick-And-Easy* breakfast formula… so there’s no more excuses in my book!

I’ll share it with you because I like you.

(Greens + Fruits + Protein) x (Filling + Delicious + Quick) = Healthy Breakfast for Busy Bees 

Smoothies & Oats – Why are they the winning ticket? Because it’s the easiest and tastiest way to pack your breakfast with nutrients that will fuel you for the day.

Smoothies!

(I promise they’re just as healthy and delicious when they’re not organized into beautiful straight lines.)

Why I love them: You can “hide” a bunch of leafy greens and nutrient-dense superfoods in your smoothie without compromising taste. AND you can improvise with whatever you have in your fridge/pantry… Seriously, as long as you have a banana or dates, your smoothie will taste delish.

What to stock up on:

  • Frozen fruits (strawberries, blueberries, mango, pineapple, banana, etc)
  • Frozen spinach and/or kale (I prefer using fresh, but I’m always glad I have frozen when I’m behind on shopping!
  • Almond milk (or coconut, hemp, soy) OR you can always just use water or tea as your liquid. (I avoid juice…lotta sugar)
  • Nut butter (almond, peanut, cashew, etc) – Great protein boost and taste, but not essential
  • Boosters/Superfoods (Protein powder, chia seeds, flax seeds, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, goji berries, cacao, matcha, spirulina, acai, etc) – I go crazy with the boosters, and always add heaping spoonfuls.

Once you get your smoothie routine down, and you play around with getting the right texture and taste – you can make a delicious and healthy breakfast in no more than 5 minutes.

Oats!

Why I love them: Similar to smoothies – oats give you an easy platform to stock up on good/healthy stuff while still tasting good and being filling enough to start your day off right.

What to stock up on:

  • Oats, duh. (I buy steel-cut organic)
  • Boosters/Superfoods – Same as with smoothies! (Protein powder, chia seeds, flax seeds, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, goji berries, cacao, matcha, almonds, walnuts, spirulina, acai, etc)
  • Sweetener (raisins, dates, honey or agave, teaspoon of coconut sugar, fruit or berries) – whatever it is, you don’t need much!
  • Almond milk and almond butter are great for taste and texture.

Time-Saver Tip: If you’re in a rush and don’t have time to eat at home, put your oats in a tupperware container, and your dry add-ins in another little container, bring to work – and just add hot water/mix when you have a minute!

 

Leave a Reply

